Marquis Hill + John Escreet’s Seismic Shift – CD Release Party

    The Angel City Jazz Fest presents a special evening featuring two sets of creative jazz music.

    1st set: Marquis Hill

    • Marquis Hill – Trumpet
    • Jahari Stampley – Keys
    • Joshua Griffin – Bass
    • Jeremiah Collier – Drums

    From his beginnings as one of Chicago’s most thrilling young trumpeters, to his current status as an internationally renowned musician, composer and bandleader, Marquis Hill has worked tirelessly to break down the barriers that divide musical genres. Contemporary and classic jazz, hip-hop, R&B, Chicago house, neo-soul—to Hill, they’re all essential elements of the profound African-American creative heritage he’s a part of. “It all comes from the same tree,” he says. “They simply blossomed from different branches.”

    2nd set: John Escreet’s Seismic Shift – CD Release Party

    • John Escreet – piano
    • Eric Revis – bass
    • Damion Reed – drums

    Over the course of his career, John Escreet has earned a reputation as one of the most active and diverse pianist/composers working in jazz and improvised music. His prolificoutput is reflected over the course of 8 diverse and critically acclaimed albums.

    Tonight’s performance is a celebration of his Whirlwind Records’ upcoming release Seismic Shift.

    Event Details
    Event Details
      AD: Wraps by Renzel